Music Department » Music Department

Music Department

 

 

MUSIC

The Curie Music team's main tenet is that music is synonymous with life.  Music brings excitement to education while offering a deeper meaning to learning.  The overarching goal for the developing musicians in the Curie Music program is for these students to engage in the creative process.   The Curie Music department fosters students to create, perform, respond and connect to a multitude of musical genres and embrace the rich culture of our student population.  Students at Curie High School not only have high level music classes which include: Band, Choir, Guitar, Electronic Music, Music Production, Piano, Orchestra and Percussion Ensembles.  Students at Curie have a unique opportunity to work with professional musicians on the National and International level.  The educators in the Curie Music department are not only passionate teaching artists but true artists in their own right.  The students at Curie are mentored to find their own musical voice. 

Any questions pertaining to a specific program of interest, email:

 

Band (Concert/Jazz/Marching): Ian Torres, irtorres@cps.edu , Leon Miller, lnmiller@cps.edu , Timothy Walker, tdwalker@cps.edu

Chorus: Irica Baurer, ibaurer@cps.edu , Delwin Roland, dmroland@cps.edu

Guitar: Michael Gallagher, mjgallagher@cps.edu

Orchestra: Barry Herndon, bcherndon@cps.edu

Piano: Jukube Felton, jfelton@cps.edu , Timothy Walker, tdwalker@cps.edu

Percussion: Vernon Danridge, vpdanridge@cps.edu

Production/Adidas Sound Lab: Vernon Danridge, vpdanridge@cps.edu , Michael Gallagher, mjgallagher@cps.edu

 

 
Want to audition for our MAGNET MUSIC program????

 

Only students who have submitted a complete application and have met the minimum requirements will be granted an audition for admission to the Curie’s Music Department. 

 

Students of all abilities and levels of experience may apply for admission into the music program. Curie recognizes the need to provide opportunities for students who have high levels of musical training and for students who have not had training in a formal setting, but demonstrate strong natural ability and a desire to learn.

This year, students have the option of auditioning in person, a live virtual performance, or pre-recorded virtual submission. See the dates below:

 

Audition & Virtual Submission Dates:

  • Wednesday November 3, 2012 (In person audition)

o   4pm – 6pm

  • Wednesday December 8, 2021 (In person audition)

o   4pm – 6pm

  • Wednesday January 12, 2022 (Cancelled)

o   4pm – 6pm

  • Virtual submissions due by Wednesday, January 26, 2022. 
 
Should you any questions, contact Irica Baurer at ibaurer@cps.edu